Abstract narrowing funnel illustration in olive green and pale mint on white — decorative header for Laundry Finder: Match a Washer or Dryer to Your Space

Laundry finder: four questions, matched against the spec sheet

Washer or dryer, how big a load, where it goes and what it has to wash. Every result is a machine reviewed on this site, and the review is one click away.

The finder searches every product reviewed on this site. It does not rank them by anything we were paid to prefer, and it does not hide one because its listing is incomplete — a listing that never states a figure still appears, labelled not stated, because an incomplete listing is not a worse product.

Your requirements

What are you shopping for?

Capacity only means something within a type — a portable washer and a full-size front-loader are not the same machine — so the class medians below are always computed inside one.

How big a load?

Drum volume as the maker publishes it. Around 2 cubic feet is a couple of days for one person; 4.5 and over takes a duvet. Portable machines usually quote pounds of dry laundry instead, which is a different measurement — those show as not stated here and are never excluded by this question.

Where will it go?

Freestanding needs its own footprint and a permanent hookup. Portable rolls to the sink and connects to a tap. Stackable pairs go one above the other; wall-mounted takes no floor at all.

Which cycles do you need?

Makers list the programs a machine offers; most list several. Pick the ones you would really use — a listing that names only one is the more useful signal.

ENERGY STAR certified

Only listings that state the certification are shown when this is ticked, and few do — absence means the maker did not say, not that the machine is inefficient.

90 machines match

INTERGREAT 18Lbs Twin Tub Portable Washing Machine Review

Freestanding
Capacity as stated
18 lbs total rated capacity (approx. 9.6 lbs wash tub / 5.4 lbs spin tub per spec sheet)
Key cycles
not stated
Energy
not stated

Capacity

Not stated

This listing does not publish a figure, so it cannot be placed against the baseline.

BLACK+DECKER BFLD80ME 8.0 Cu. Ft. Electric Dryer Review

not statedENERGY STAR
Capacity as stated
8.0 cubic feet
Key cycles
not stated
Energy
ENERGY STAR certified

Capacity

8cu ft

Too few machines in this class to publish a baseline.

BLACK+DECKER BLD67ME 7.0 Cu. Ft. Front Load Dryer Review

Freestanding
Capacity as stated
6.7 cubic feet (marketed as 7.0 Cu. Ft. class)
Key cycles
not stated
Energy
not stated

Capacity

6.7cu ft

Too few machines in this class to publish a baseline.

1.6 Cu.Ft Portable Clothes Dryer Review: Efficiency, Compact Design, and Fabric Care

Portable
Capacity as stated
1.6 Cubic Feet
Key cycles
5 Fabric-Specific Programs
Energy
Not Specified

Capacity

1.6cu ft

Too few machines in this class to publish a baseline.

Effidry S3 Compact Dryer Review: 1.06 Cu. Ft. 110V 1050W for Small Spaces 2026

Portable
Capacity as stated
1.06 Cubic Feet
Key cycles
8 Specialized Functions (including Silk, Shoe, and Timed Drying)
Energy
DOE Certified

Capacity

1.06cu ft

Too few machines in this class to publish a baseline.

LG 5.2 cu. Ft Stackable Smart Washer Review: Capacity, Efficiency, and Modern Design

StackableNormal · Spin onlyENERGY STAR
Capacity as stated
5.2 cubic feet
Key cycles
Bedding, Normal, Rinse, Spin
Energy
ENERGY STAR certified

Capacity

5.2cu ft

Too few machines in this class to publish a baseline.

Portable Washing Machine Review: 2.0 Cu.ft Compact Washer for Small Spaces

FreestandingHeavy · Quick · Spin only
Capacity as stated
2.0 Cubic Feet
Key cycles
10 Wash Modes (Quick Wash, Heavy Duty, Spin, Tub Clean, Soak Wash, Tub Air Dry, Water Recycle)
Energy
High-Efficiency Motor, 24-Hour Delayed Washing

Capacity

2cu ft

Too few machines in this class to publish a baseline.

Compact Dryer Review: 1.8 Cu.Ft. 1020W Portable Dryer with Stainless Steel Drum

Wall-mounted
Capacity as stated
1.8 cubic feet
Key cycles
Four programmable settings
Energy
No specific certification noted

Capacity

1.8cu ft

Too few machines in this class to publish a baseline.

Portable Clothes Dryer Review: Mojoco MJC-T03 – Compact, Quiet, and Efficient for Small Spaces

Freestanding
Capacity as stated
22 Pounds
Key cycles
not stated
Energy
600 Watt-hours

Capacity

Not stated

This listing does not publish a figure, so it cannot be placed against the baseline.

ROVSUN 17.8LBS Portable Washing Machine Review: 2026 Buyer’s Guide to Performance, Efficiency, and Space-Saving Design

not stated
Capacity as stated
17.8 Pounds
Key cycles
4
Energy
not stated

Capacity

Not stated

This listing does not publish a figure, so it cannot be placed against the baseline.

Amana NTW4516FW Washer Review: 3.5 Cu. Ft. Refurbished Performance

FreestandingNormal · Quick
Capacity as stated
3.5 Cubic Feet
Key cycles
8 Standard Cycles, 2 Wash Speeds
Energy
not stated

Capacity

3.5cu ft

Too few machines in this class to publish a baseline.

Panda Portable Spin Dryer Review: 22lbs Capacity, Stainless Steel Drum & 110V Efficiency

not stated
Capacity as stated
22 Pounds
Key cycles
not stated
Energy
not stated

Capacity

Not stated

This listing does not publish a figure, so it cannot be placed against the baseline.

How to read the results

The figure on the right of each result is its drum capacity in cubic feet, and beneath it how far that sits from the median for its own type and size class. Bigger is only better if you have the loads to fill it: a half-full drum costs the same water and heat as a full one. The bar shows where the machine sits across its class, with the median marked.

Where a class holds fewer than eight products, no comparison is shown. That is a deliberate limit, not a missing feature. Read the review under each result opens this site’s review of that product; Check price on Amazon opens the listing.

Why incomplete listings still appear

Every figure here is the manufacturer’s, as quoted in the review. A filter that dropped everything it could not confirm would discard much of the catalogue the moment you answered, and what it discarded would not be worse products, only less completely described ones. So a filter excludes a product only when its listing positively contradicts what you asked for.

The catalogue is 90 washers and dryers at the time of writing, and coverage of the questions varies: capacity by 63%, installation by 91%, cycles by 61%, ENERGY STAR certified by 18%. Those are the manufacturers’ own publishing habits, not gaps we chose to leave.

What the finder cannot tell you

It cannot tell you how well a machine washes or how dry the clothes come out, because those are test results and this site does not test. It cannot compare a portable against a full-size machine on capacity, because their makers publish different measurements. And it cannot tell you whether the hookups in your room will take it — measure the space, the door swing and the outlet before you order.

Prefer to compare two models?

Laundry comparisons puts specific models next to each other, and next to their whole class, using only the figures two sources agree on.

Prefer to browse?

How the reviews are written · Affiliate disclosure · About this site.